Florida Uncontested Divorce Lawyer
Steven D. Miller, P.A. specializes in the many different types of divorce cases you may face, in addition to facilitating litigation for child support child custody, and split custody agreements. Going through an amicable divorce, even uncontested divorces, is not an easy process so you should not try to face it alone. Florida uncontested divorce attorney Steven D. Miller, P.A. will lead you through the most cost efficient and easy to navigate process possible.
Florida Uncontested Divorce
Uncontested divorces are recommended only if you and your spouse ARE IN AGREEMENT on all issues such as:
- Division of Marital Property and Debt
- Child Related issues including Florida child custody, parenting plans, visitation, and child support
How to Get an Uncontested Divorce?
In an uncontested divorce case, all pertinent issues will be addressed in the marital settlement agreement: equitable distribution of marital property and debt, child support, child custody, alimony and divorce requirements in the state of Florida.
An uncontested divorce means that you and your spouse have agreed (a) to dissolve your marriage – get divorced (b) how to divide your property and debt, If you have any to divide and (c) how to resolve child related issues, IF you have children.
How Long Does It Take?
Final judgment of divorce (the legal document that says you are divorced) will be entered about 30 days after we file the case with the clerk of court. Florida law provides that a final judgment of dissolution cannot be entered for at least 20 days from filing. If you have selected the “no- hearing” option, neither you or your spouse will need to appear in court. Instead, a copy of the final judgment will be sent to you from the clerk of court or judge’s office once final judgment is entered.
Where Will Your Case Be Filed?
No Children Cases:
We file a majority of our uncontested cases, without children, in one of the counties that does not require your appearance in court. Instead of going to court for a 2 minute, 7 question hearing, we prepare an affidavit asking you the same questions and file it with the clerk when your case is filed. That document will keep you out of court.
On rare occasions, we will file an uncontested case in the county where you reside. If we believe that there may be an enforcement issue after final judgment is entered (i.e., you need to enforce a provision of the marital settlement agreement) we will give you our opinion about where to file so you can make an informed decision. Most clients follow our advice. Most clients and spouses in an uncontested amicable divorce, do not want to go to a hearing – waste of time and money.
We file a majority of our uncontested cases with children in the county where the children reside. Yes, we offer a no-hearing option in these cases but do not recommend doing that. Why? Because there is a reasonable likelihood that at some time after final judgment is entered, you or your spouse will be returning to court for some reason. Could be to modify child support or child custody; time sharing, relocation, enforcement or contempt. If your case is filed in a county that does not require a final hearing and if there is a post-judgment issue that requires you to go back to court, you have two choices: (1) file the post-judgment case in the county where case was filed or (2) transfer case from where it was back to county where you reside for which you will pay costs and fees. Bottom line: we do not recommend.
We will attend a short final hearing about 30 days after the case is filed. Hearings are usually held early morning and the entire process, including hanging around the courthouse, will take about an hour out of your day – the hearing takes about 3 minutes and you will be asked a series of 6 or 7 “name, rank and serial number” questions – no big deal.
No children: Same as above – divorced about 30 days after filing and no court hearing required.
Children: Same as above – we generally file in the county where you currently reside or where you last resided if you are out of the state. If you are out of state and a hearing is required, we will ask the judge assigned to your case for permission for you to appear by phone; a request that is routinely granted. You will need to be with a notary or officer so that they can identify you for the judge and administer the oath to tell the truth. The hearing will take about 3 minutes.
When Will You Be Divorced?
You will be divorced when the judge signs the final judgment of dissolution. If you attend the hearing, the judge will give you a copy to take with you. If you want certified copies – usually only needed if a woman restores her maiden or former name – the clerk will take you to their office for certified copies. If you chose the “no-hearing” option, the final judgment will be sent to you by the clerk or judge; if you do not get one (it happens sometimes), let us know and we’ll email one to you.
What’s the Legal Process for an Uncontested Divorce?
- We will have a conference by phone or video (we prefer video and will send a link if you want) to take the information we need to do our work. We need basic information about you and your spouse (date of birth, social security numbers (last 4 only), date of marriage, etc. If you have property and debt to divide, we need to know how you are doing so. If it’s not a lot, we can get the information in one call. If it’s more than “not a lot”, we may need to chat a few times. Many of our clients send us a schedule of how property/debt will be divided. We discuss all issues in detail. If we see an issue, we will let you know what it is and let you know your options.
ASK ANY QUESTIONS – ANYTHING AT ALL
- When we have all required information, your documents are prepared within a day or two and are sent by email for review. If all is in order, you will print, sign, notarize and return along with the required financial affidavits – you and your spouse much each fill one out – no exceptions, per the Florida Family Law Rules of Court. We will send you a “spouse package” that you can forward to them. They can return the executed documents to you or us.
- Upon receipt of all required documents from you and your spouse, your case will be filed through the Florida efiling system. The filing fee is paid at this time by credit/debit card or check (need routing and account numbers). The clerk does not accept VISA for filing fee.
- When the judge is assigned to your case, usually about 2 days after filing, we forward a final judgment to the court for execution. It is usually signed within 30 days of filing and you will receive a copy directly from the courthouse.
- Same as above except your case will be scheduled for the short final hearing about 20-30 days after filing. You will receive a notice from us by email and we will schedule a phone/video conference to prepare for the hearing. The hearing takes about 3 minutes and you will be asked a series of 6 or 7 seven “name, rank and serial number questions – no big deal. At the conclusion of the hearing, the judge will sign the final judgment and give you a copy to take home. On very rare occasions, the final judgment will be mailed. If you want certified copies, the clerk will take you to their office to get them. Unless you restored a maiden/former name, there is no reason for a certified copy.
- In addition to financial affidavits, you and your spouse will need to fill out the parenting plan form that we send you. It is a visitation schedule and deals with other child related issues. In order to calculate child support, we need both financial affidavits and need to know the number of nights per year that you and your spouse will have the children. We take that information directly from the parenting plan. Child support is a calculation, not a negotiation.
- Both parents are “required” to take a parenting class. When completed, you will receive a certificate of completion that you will forward to us for filing. You can take the class online and it costs about $20.00. We will forward a link to one of many online classes.
Contested Divorce in Florida
You and your spouse ARE NOT IN AGREEMENT on one or more issues.
Steven D. Miller, P.A. will represent you as your Florida family law attorney matters to the extent you desire. We will educate you about the issues in your situation, make recommendations and let you know how the process works. From there, it is up to you how to proceed. Make things simple – it’s a smart, smart thing to do!
A contested Florida divorce will not initially include the marital settlement agreement, but it will be prepared when you reach an agreement with your spouse: usually at the court ordered settlement conference – mediation. That is what we do as your divorce lawyer.
Talk to Steven D. Miller, P.A., a Florida divorce lawyers since 1985. It’s FREE and the goal is simple: help you reach an affordable divorce agreement. Whether you are in Fort Lauderdale, Jacksonville, Tampa or anywhere else in the state of Florida we can educate you about the issues and options in your particular case. A majority of our clients reach an agreement regarding their Florida divorce with NO lengthy court battles or wasting of time and money. Want to extract a pound of flesh from your spouse – call the competition; they’ll be happy to take your hard earned money.
No agreement? A Florida supreme court certified family law mediator may be able to help. Most are extremely thoughtful and work very hard to help you and your spouse resolve your Florida divorce issues. We may even suggest that you and your spouse seek mediation before filing because the family law judge assigned to your case will order it if the case is filed without a marital settlement agreement. Do all you can to resolve your case before filing petition for dissolution.
Look, some folks rush into divorce quicker than “**it through a duck” so be sure it’s what you want. Do you want professional help to try and save your marriage? Many communities and social and religious organizations offer counseling services or you may wish to consult with your religious adviser. Don’t be hasty; it’s a big decision.
Fair Fee Legal Representation | Florida Divorce Attorney
Florida has abolished fault as a grounds for divorce – Florida is a “no-fault” divorce state. If your marriage is irretrievably broken (i.e., no chance at reconciliation) you will get a Florida divorce. Fault can still be used as grounds for a Florida divorce (there are a handful of grounds recognized by the courts) but we do not recommend going down that road. The “irretrievable breakdown law” lessens the blow to the husband, wife, and their dependent children caused by the process of divorce. Fault may be considered under certain circumstances in the award of alimony, equitable distribution of marital assets and liabilities and determination of custody but depends on very specific facts.
Every Florida divorce is unique and results vary. Although fault is not an issue in granting the dissolution, the division of property and debt, responsibility for support and custody of children may become contested matters.
The Florida divorce process can be highly emotional for all parties and their families. Marriage partners often do not know their legal rights and obligations. Court clerks and judges can answer some of your basic questions but are prohibited from giving legal advice. Only your lawyer is allowed to do that. Statutory requirements and court rules must be strictly followed or you may lose certain rights forever. To contact us please fill our free online form, or call us at (954) 472-0776.
Steven D. Miller, P.A., the fair fee divorce and family law firm, will inform, educate and walk you through the entire process whether an uncontested or contested divorce case: “When it’s time to leave . . . Call Steve.” The smart, smart thing to do.